Dress to the Nines

I love salads, LOVE them. The other day I went to make a side salad with one of my dinners. I did not have any homemade dressing left, so I grabbed some Italian out of my pantry and used that. While I was dressing my salad, I noticed a paragraph on the container, aka the ingredients list. I started reading what was in this Italian dressing, mainly out of curiosity. Well, I definitely did not recognize all of the ingredients, nor do I keep all of these in my kitchen:

Vinegar
Water
Vegetable oil (soybean oil and canola oil)
High fructose corn syrup
Salt
Dried garlic
Red bell pepper (dried)
Onion (dried)
Xantham Gum
Spice (love the detail here)
Oleoresin Paprika
Potassium sorbate
Calcium Disodium EDTA

I don’t know about you, but I never thought a dressing could be so complicated. I mean, some nights I just use olive oil and vinegar, TWO ingredients. I decided it was time to experiment with my own dressings. I am a big fan of balsamic vinaigrette, so this first recipe is my favorite.

Balsamic dressing

1-2 garlic cloves minced (depends on your taste preference)
¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
¾ cup balsamic vinegar
½ teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
Dash of salt and pepper

Whisk together in a small bowl. Place in fridge in an air tight container. This should last around a week, but if you eat as many salads as I do, it will last much less.

Not a fan of balsamic dressing, more of a creamy dressing person? This next recipe is for you.

Greek yogurt dressing

1- 8 ounce container of plain Greek yogurt
¼ lemon squeezed
1-2 cloves garlic minced (again taste preference)
Dash of salt and pepper
1 teaspoon of dill, parsley, or any other herb that you like

Mix in a small bowl and store in the fridge. This dressing also makes a great dip for vegetables.

Time to play dress up!

2 thoughts on “Dress to the Nines

  1. I have the BEST homemade dressing you have to try and it’s CRAZY easy and delicious!! It’s my grandma’s recipe! Super cheap to make too.

    Bring 3/4c Apple Cider Vinegar to a boil with 3/4c White Sugar & as much crushed black pepper as desired (I like my black pepper).

    After it has come to a boil, take off the burner & let rest for a little bit. Add 1/2 cup canola oil (olive oil is a little too strong).

    Cool in the fridge for a little and serve!!

    It’s sweet but has a kick in the back of your throat with the pepper… and now the only dressing I use!!!

Leave a Reply

