Philadelphia, city of freedom…

Who knew our fore fathers fought for more than religious freedom? I’d like to think Washington was really battling for a Philly Cheesesteak and a cannoli from Termini Brothers. I arrived in Philly two days ago, and since then I have experienced some serious local cuisine.

Reading Terminal Market- this place is heaven. For dinner last night I had a beef brisket sandwich with horseradish sauce on it from Hershel’s East Side. Holy cow was it good! You can’t make a bad food choice in this place.

Termini Brothers- Today I headed back to the Reading Terminal Market. I could not leave without getting a pastry from Termini Brothers. I got a cannoli, my absolute favorite dessert ever (photo above), but while waiting in line for 20 minutes for my single cannoli, I took photos of some of their other AMAZING treats!

It has not all been about great food, there has been a little history too. Today I saw Independence Hall, the West Wing, Ben Franklin’s grave, the United States Mint, the President’s house, and the Liberty Bell. It was a busy day of touring, eating AND walking.

Tomorrow’s agenda- a real Philly Cheesesteak and a jog up the Art Museum steps while pretending I am Sylvester Stallone in Rocky.

ADRIAAAAAAN

3 thoughts on “Philadelphia, city of freedom…

  1. hahahahaha that last part made me laugh so hard.
    i just started singing the music… have fun and i was serious about eating a philly steak for me ;)

  2. Yum! I ate at DiNic’s at Reading Terminal and had the roast pork with sharp provolone and broccoli rabe… it was on Man Vs Food and it was AMAZING!! Also had a cheesesteak somewhere near the market part in the front.. amazing as well :) Glad you got out to Philly!!

  3. I wanted to go to DiNic’s so bad, but the line was soooo long, and we were in somewhat of a hurry! I need to plan a trip to your city… NYC!

Leave a Reply

