The Importance of Planning

It’s time to get back to the real meaning of my blog, showing how easy, delicious and affordable college cooking can be. One thing I have found that makes cooking easier is to plan out my meals. Each week before I head to the grocery store I make a list of dishes I would like to try, and then I make a list of all the ingredients that I do not have. Planning keeps me focused at the store and prevents me from overspending on extras. I also have fewer tendencies to order out when I know I have a set meal schedule and the ingredients in the fridge.

This blog shows my weekly meal plan and grocery list. I wrote it all up in 20 minutes, and I can’t wait to get shopping and get cooking.

Meal Plan:

Wednesday-Eggplant parmesan and a side salad

Thursday- Stuffed cabbage roll and a side salad

Friday- Pasta fagioli with baguette

Saturday- Leftovers

Sunday- Roast chicken and sautéed brussels sprouts

Monday- Cuban braised beef with rice

Tuesday- Chicken and potato soup

Wednesday- Leftovers

* For breakfast I plan to eat the following things throughout the week: oatmeal, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs and toast. I keep most of these things stocked at all times. For lunch I plan on eating leftovers or a combination of nuts, pretzels, fruits and vegetables.

Grocery List:

– 2 apples
– 2 grapefruits
– 1 mango
– 2 lemons
– 1 bag of carrots, large
– 1 bag of baby carrots
– 1 bag of celery
– 1 bag of salad
– 1 eggplant
– 3 potatoes
– Bunch of cilantro
– Bunch of flat leaf parsley
– Small thing of fresh basil
– 3 cans of kidney beans
– 1 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes
– 1 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes
– 1 can of tomato paste
– 5 cups of low-sodium chicken stock
– 1 bag of long grain white rice
– 1 box of macaroni
– 1 lb. of Italian sausage
– 1 lb. of flank steak
– Small milk
– Yogurt
– Baguette
– Hummus
– Pretzels

Total amount of money spent- $70.00

For $70.00 I have every meal covered; breakfast, lunch and dinner from now until next Thursday! That is less than ten dollars a day total for all three meals! You can’t even beat that at McDonalds :)

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Planning

  1. I have a plan. 1)you transfer to osu2)you can live here free3)multiply your shopping list items by four4)we will finance the groceries if you cook them!!!

Leave a Reply

