Eggcellent

I just HAVE to blog about my recent go to meal, the frittata. It all started last week when I was at the grocery store, and I bought a bunch of asparagus. I was not sure what I wanted to make with it, but its asparagus, you just can’t go wrong. I had a pint of cherry tomatoes, some baby bella mushrooms, a bunch of asparagus and some red potatoes that were just getting ready go south. In the spirit of Love Food Hate Waste, I knew I had to come up with something creative. Cue the frittata.

The beauty of a frittata is that you can make it with whatever vegetables you have in your fridge. Not a fan of asparagus? Substitute in peppers, broccoli, zucchini, etc.

I decided to roast the asparagus I purchased with the cherry tomatoes, garlic and a little bit of olive oil. While they were roasting, I cut the red potatoes into thin rounds and sautéed them in a large pan with onions. When the potatoes were done I set them on a plate and sautéed up the baby bellas. Once all of my vegetables were cooked, it was time to assemble. I arranged the potatoes and onions at the bottom of the sauté pan. Then I put the asparagus, tomatoes and mushrooms on top. I scrambled 4 eggs with some milk and pepper, and I poured the egg mixture on top of the potato and vegetable layers.

Assembly

To cook, I put the sauté pan in the oven (make sure your pan can go in the oven) uncovered at 375°. After it looked like the top was a little set, I put the lid on the pan and let it cook until finished. I just kept checking the dish until the eggs did not look runny. I took the pan out of the oven and cut out a slice of heaven.

But, I’m not done yet. What is a frittata without some cheese? I did not want to smother my frittata with cheddar cheese because I don’t want to smother my hips in my jeans. So, I got some really good feta out of the fridge and sprinkled it on top. I popped it in the microwave for less than a minute just to warm the feta. It was that time, time to dive on the couch, turn on Bravo and enjoy my amazing dinner!

Finished product :)

Leave a Reply

