Pasta Party

The following is one of my favorite pasta dishes, and it takes NO time at all to make. I’m talking about Roasted Tomato and Spinach Penne Pasta. I got home today around 7:00, and I was exhausted and starving. I knew this dish would be quick and delicious. It goes a little something like this…

Take two handfuls of cherry or grape tomatoes. Toss them with some olive oil and a bit of salt. Set them on a cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees until they look wrinkled (around 15 minutes). While tomatoes are roasting boil some water and get the penne pasta going. I use whole wheat penne for that extra kick of healthy! While pasta is cooking sauté 3 cloves of garlic in some olive oil, my favorite step in any recipe. Fill hot pan with fresh spinach. Honestly, I use a whole bag. I love spinach and it cooks down a lot. If your pan does not hold an entire bag do the spinach in batches. Just make sure you do not overcook it! A bright green is perfect, but brown means you cooked it too far. I set the cooked spinach on a plate right when it gets to the color I want. By this time, the pasta and tomatoes should be done. Drain the pasta and put it in a medium bowl. Add the cooked spinach and roasted tomatoes. Drizzle extra virgin olive oil on top and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and some fresh parmesan. Serve with a side salad and a glass of red wine.

I love representing my 1/4 Italian heritage :)

One thought on “Pasta Party

Leave a Reply

