Soup’s up!

Usually once a month, I pack up some of my stuff and head back to Ohio for a visit with family and friends. In the midst of throwing clothes, dirty laundry and hair products into a bag I open the fridge for a snack and freak out. My fridge is usually filled with an array of fresh food that I know will NOT make it through my time away. You should know by now that I HATE wasting food, and I can’t be the only one who finds themselves in a sudden need to empty their fridge before a getaway. So, what do you do? Make some soup!

Soup is pretty cool. It’s one dish that transcends all social classes and cultures, and it’s as simple as throwing together whatever is in your fridge. When I opened my fridge yesterday and saw carrots, mushrooms and green beans combined with the soft potato, onions and tomatoes on my counter, soup was the only answer.

My soup included the following:

– 3 carrots chopped
– 1- 8 oz. container of baby bellas sliced
– Two handfuls of cherry tomatoes cut in half
– 1 potato (it was all I had) cut into 1 inch cubes
– 1 onion chopped
– Small bag of green beans cut into 1 inch pieces
– 3 cloves of garlic minced
– 5 cups of vegetable stock
– 1 cup of water
– Salt and pepper
– Red pepper flakes

I started with garlic, onion and olive oil in a big soup pot, big surprise. I added the carrots, beans and potato. After 7 minutes or so I added the tomatoes, mushrooms, stock and water. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes (I like spice!). I pretty much let it simmer on medium-low heat until the veggies were soft but still had a little bite to them. I finished it off with fresh lemon juice, dill and a few crumbles of feta cheese. It was so good and even BETTER when I had it today!

Vege soup :)

One thought on “Soup’s up!

Leave a Reply

