Hola!

I am back from Spain; what a trip! It’s hard to believe it has already been a week. I terribly miss the Spanish lifestyle, good eats and wine of course. I am pretty sure my blood type is now vino, so what better place to start blogging about my Spanish food conquest? I love wine with all parts of a meal, but the combination of wine and dessert has a special place in my heart. Bring on the drinks and the decadent treats!

Barcelona-

I drank a lot of sangria here, but not a whole lot of straight wine. The day we took a cooking class (Cook and Taste) and could drink as much wine as we wanted, I was super hung over, go figure. Water was the only option in my mind. Even though I couldn’t try the wine, I definitely felt well enough to try the dessert, Catalan Cream. Catalan Cream is similar to Crème Brulee and Flan, just a tad less heavy. Heavy or not, I always have room for dessert, especially one that two of my friends, Ashley and Natalie, actually made! My favorite part is the crunchy caramelized top. So GOOD!

Catalan Cream

Madrid-

This is where the real wine drinking began. Our first night, we went on a tapas tour that took us to my favorite eating and drinking spot, La Vinoteca. The red wine was great!

Vinoteca

At a suggested spirits shop near our hotel, I purchased wine for my family, 3 reds and 2 whites. If I could do it again, I would have brought back double that. I kept one bottle of red for myself, a 2002 Enate, tempranillo and cabernet sauvignon blend. I am saving it for a special night, or I may just drink it while watching some really trashy reality TV.

Wine :)

A night on the town was not complete without a stop at Chocolateria San Gines. This was our version of late night Taco Bell, churros and chocolate! Even looking at the picture makes my mouth water. I would give up air conditioning for the summer to have this dessert delivered to me right now, and if you know me you know I HATE being hot. If you go to Madrid, you must eat this dessert. I repeat, YOU MUST EAT THIS. It only cost quatro (four) euros for 6 churros and a cup of the richest, most delicious chocolate ever.

Amazing

Obviously, this is only a snippet of the wine and dessert that was consumed overseas, but I think it represents some of the best.

Cheers to grapes, fermentation, sweets and good friends.

Leave a Reply

