Stuffed Peppers

My brother’s garden is in full swing, and two weeks ago when I was home I made sure to stop by and see it slash stock up on fresh vegetables. I took a fair amount of tomatoes, but what I was most excited about were all the different types of peppers! He has jalapeño, cherry bomb, Hungarian, bell peppers and more! I decided to put my own spin on a classic dish: the stuffed pepper, Mexican style.

I am really excited about this dish because for the first time I did not use an actual recipe. I used techniques and flavors that I know work well together and went to town.

So here it is…

Emily’s Tex-Mex Stuffed Peppers:

1 boneless skinless chicken breast poached and shredded

3 bell peppers blanched- Try and take advantage of all the Farmers markets in your town. Nothing beats garden peppers!

½ cup of brown rice and 1 cup water

¼ onion chopped

1 jalapeño minced- I use the seeds because I love heat!

10 cherry or grape tomatoes quartered

2 lime wedges

Cheese of choice- I used a Mexican blend

Salt and pepper

Start off with the rice. It usually takes the longest to cook. Sauté rice in extra virgin olive oil until browned, add one cup of water and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn the heat to low and simmer, covered for 30-45 minutes or until cooked. While rice is cooking blanch the peppers and poach the chicken. Check out this site for poaching and this site for blanching info.

Blanched peppers

In a small sauté pan heat a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil and add the onions. Once onions are translucent add the cherry tomatoes and minced jalapeño. I used my best judgment here on timing. I made sure all the flavors had time to meld together and the tomatoes looked soft. After everything was cooked it was stuffing time. In a medium sized bowl, I shredded the chicken and mixed it with the rice and sautéed vegetables. I added the juice of two lime wedges and some salt and pepper to taste. I really wanted to stay true to the natural flavors of the food, so I used minimal spices. I stuffed the peppers with this mixture and sprinkled the tops with cheese.

Stuffing

I put the peppers in the oven on broil and baked them until the cheese was brown and bubbly.

Hot out of the oven

To top it all off, I chopped up some cilantro, added it to plain Greek yogurt, and finished each pepper with a dollop. They were heavenly, and completely healthy. The only somewhat suspect ingredient was the cheese, but I think we all deserve a little cheese at the end of a long day.

Time to eat- check out that awesome cup :)

3 thoughts on “Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

