Let the Harvest Begin

I can’t get over all of the fresh local vegetables popping up everywhere. Some of my favorites include: summer squash, cucumbers and tomatoes. While I prefer to eat most of these right off the vine, there are numerous simple recipes that feature summer’s harvest. Here are a few that I enjoy…

1. Sautéed yellow squash with onions

It’s as easy as this- Heat some olive oil in a large skillet. Sauté one onion, cut into strips, until translucent. Cut squash into rings and add to onions. Keep on heat, stirring occasionally until squash is cooked. Finish it with a sprinkle of sea salt and cracked black pepper.

Summer squash

2. Cucumber and onion salad

This is one of my family’s favorites. My mom whips it up in a big bowl and continually adds cucumbers to the vinegar base throughout the week. I don’t have her exact recipe on hand, but this one is similar.

Cucumbers

3. Tomato, mozzarella and basil salad and/or sandwich

This classic salad incorporates garden tomatoes and that fresh basil growing in your herb garden. I know it’s not unique, but it is so good you just can’t go wrong. Want to mix it up? Make a “grilled cheese” by placing tomatoes, mozzarella and basil on two pieces of whole grain bread, drizzling with balsamic vinegar and toasting it.

Tomatoes :)

4 thoughts on “Let the Harvest Begin

  1. I came back from San Fran to find an explosion of cherry tomatoes. I probably ate about a quart of them tonight. I also make a little ad-lib hot pepper relish out of some cherry bombs, coriander, kosher salt, olive oil, and queen basil (which has more of a licorice flavor than Italian basil). It went pretty well with the tuna steaks I grilled up!

  2. You and Joe seriously need to pitch a cooking show! Joe can go with the hunter “manly man” angle and you can add the budget-minded college student cooking with fresh local food/no waste angle…Let me know if you need me to work as your agent!

Leave a Reply

