My Green Machine

I’m feeling like a million bucks lately, minus this pesky cough. I have been sticking to my workout schedule and eating some great meals. One thing that trips me up sometimes is breakfast! I used to never eat it, and now I can’t survive without it. The usual oatmeal with fruit or Kind Bar with fruit can get boring so I am always looking up ideas for a quick, filling breakfast. Everyone needs to start the day off right :)

Last week, while searching through Pinterest (you HAVE to check out this site), I saw a green juice smoothie recipe I had to try. It boasted of a healthy glow, a better way to start your day than coffee and not to mention TONS of nutrients. I tweaked the recipe a bit and made this:

Emily’s Green Machine:

– 1/2 cup frozen strawberries

– 1/2 cup frozen peaches

– 1 banana

– 1 handful of spinach

– Green tea (add until desired consistency)

– Honey (adjust for desired sweetness)

Don't judge a book by its cover- this was tasty :)

Blend it all up, pour and enjoy. Mine was not the beautiful green that I have seen in other recipes, but it tasted great. Also, I love that the fruit, green tea and raw spinach have endless health benefits.

Not feeling the whole earthy spinach taste? Just make a fruit smoothie. This recipe is great because you can make it your own. I might use kale instead of spinach in the future, add raspberries instead of peaches, sweeten up my green tea base, etc. It took 5 minutes, and eaten with a handful of nuts it was a breakfast that left me feeling super satiated. No more mid-morning munchies for me :)

One thought on “My Green Machine

Leave a Reply

