Not So Boring Salads

Salad– Depending on the person it could be a disgusting mix of vegetables, a necessary side to every meal and/or a complete meal of its own. I am on page with the latter two. I LOVE salads. I love the basic lettuce, tomato and cucumber ones, and I love the fancy ones. Today I want to share two great salads from Food and Wine magazine that I’m currently obsessed with.

Kale and Apple Salad with Pancetta and Candied Pecans

Sometimes Food and Wine recipes can be a little overwhelming for me. The ingredients are unique and not things I typically keep in my pantry. While I’m sure the exact recipe is delicious, I usually make amendments that better suit my wallet. Improvising is key in cooking. For this recipe the following substitutions or deletions can be made:

– You could sub bacon in for the pancetta

– I skipped the radicchio

– Parmesan, asiago or other cheese of choice could be used instead of Pecorino

– Pickle juice can replace the caper brine

Asian Pear and Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese

– You could sub feta cheese in for goat cheese. I love goat cheese, but I forgot to get some at the grocery store the other day. I had feta in the fridge, and it totally worked in this salad. Both cheeses have a distinct taste, and I know a lot of people that don’t like either. Again, use a cheese that A. you like and B. compliments the other ingredients. I could see a hard Italian or Blue cheese working.

– The Asian pear was at my local grocery store, but if you can’t find one a Granny Smith apple or Bosc pear could also be used.

– Last night I added cut up Honey Baked Ham to this salad, to make it more of a meal. It was a success for sure.

Asian Pear Salad

Something to consider– Kale and Arugula are strong greens. Both have a distinct taste: kale has a cabbage undertone and arugula is bitter and peppery. FYI- kale is a super food, score one for healthy. I think these greens are ideal for the above recipes, but if you don’t like the taste of arugula and kale, spinach is a possible substitute for both salads. Though, I would definitely steer clear of romaine, butter, and ice berg lettuce.

Salads are a whole new world, and the possibilities are endless. It’s no longer a mundane starter or side dish. Do you have any amazing salad recipes to share?

2 thoughts on “Not So Boring Salads

    • Haha sorrry :) Clearly my life revolves around food and drink lol. Well, and the gym to burn off food and drinks. Too bad NC and PA aren’t closer- I love to cook for others!

Leave a Reply

