Arizona Mexi-Madness!

As previously stated in my welcome to Arizona post, I have been eating my fair share of Mexican. Each place has ranged in greatness, from I can’t wait to come back here this week to maybe we should have skipped this one. I’m going to strictly focus on the exceptional ones.

Barrio Cafe- The 35 minute wait was worth it. This restaurant is more expensive than most places, but the flavors and quality really are better. I got a chile rellenos , stuffed with scallops and shrimp. Amazing. The house margarita was strong and much needed. Go here if you’re in Phoenix; you won’t be disappointed.

Los Taquitos-

Precursors:

A. This place was on my list from my food research.

B. It was also recommended to us by a local we are working with here in AZ.

C. It was on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. You know this will be nothing but magic.

I’m not going to lie, we (Danielle and I)drove past this restaurant the first time we planned on going. The small quarters and long line were not what we had in mind. We knew we had to go back, maybe do lunch first. We went after a great day of hiking. The menu on the wall included: tacos, enchiladas, burritos, tortas and more. We had our minds set on tacos. I ordered a carne asada, marinated pork and fish taco (on corn tortillas of course). Danielle ordered a chicken, marinated pork and shrimp taco. I think each of our bills with a drink were seriously around $6.00! While getting my drink I noticed this, a plastic bottle next to the register with a chunky green sauce. I freaking lost my mind.

Greeeeen sauce :)

I Iove sauces (reference B-Spot adventure). It was clearly homemade, clearly spicy and definitely going on all of my tacos. I grabbed the bottle of “green sauce”, headed to the table and waited for my number to be called. In less than 5 minutes we both had our orders. Not the largest tacos ever, but in the words of Drake they were some of the “best I ever had.” Two tacos in, Danielle and I both looked at each other and knew we were for sure coming back. In fact we stopped one night after dinner somewhere else to get a piece of flan (around $2.50 and amazing), and we went back again for breakfast later in the week. They serve the full menu at breakfast as well as several egg tacos. When my mom arrived Friday, I knew I was taking her too. I’ve been here four times and enjoyed the tacos, tortas, beans and flan. I’m loco for Los Taquitos.

Tacos- Yum.

Carne Asada Torta

Flan


Random thing I have noticed here- Why is it that the awkward looking eateries always end up being the best? It really puzzles me. Sketch city equals the best food you will ever eat.

2 thoughts on “Arizona Mexi-Madness!

Leave a Reply

