Super Summer Tuna Salad

My friend Megan turned me on to one of Ina Garten’s tuna salad recipes, and I’m definitely a huge fan now. This tuna salad is perfect for summer; it’s light, refreshing and delicious. I love that it doesn’t have mayo, making it a nice change from the traditional tuna salad recipes out there.

A few notes I have about the recipe:

– I would be careful with the salt. Don’t overdo it.

– I didn’t have wasabi powder, and the dish still turned out great. Point being, don’t run to the store if you don’t have it.

– I would suggest cooking the steaks more on the rare side, which is how good tuna steaks should be cooked (1-2 minutes on each side at high heat). I know this freaks some people out, but it really does make a difference. I  buy better quality steaks if I’m serving them rare to relieve some of the concern.

Seared steaks.

Below are some of the photos I took while preparing the salad.

Lime zest makes this salad pop.

If you don’t have one, get yourself a microplane. It makes zesting a breeze!

Note the color of the steak in the above photo, red on the inside with a seared crust. To finish it off, I added the sauce and avocado.

Finished salad!

I put a hefty scoop of  the finished salad on a bed of greens, and I think  it would also be good on some crusty bread. Hope you enjoy this twist on tuna salad as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

