Spaghetti…squash

I must admit, the summer heat is making me lazy in the kitchen. I also don’t have AC in my apartment so minimizing stove and oven use is ideal. Today,  I decided to woman up, and I went on a whirlwind cooking spree. I made apple crisp and guacamole, sautéed some vegetables that were going bad and roasted a spaghetti squash.

I wanted to do a quick post on spaghetti squash, a wonderful alternate to actual pasta. It has a mere 40 calories a cup compared to pasta which has around 220 calories. It packs more fiber andddd it’s gluten free. Sold yet? I sure am. It’s a winter squash, but it can be found in grocery stores year round. I usually try to buy food in season, but this squash is so good, I couldn’t resist.

Spaghetti Squash Pasta:

  • 1 squash, cut in half and seeded
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt
  • Vegetables of choice (steamed, sautéed, roasted, etc)

Brush two squash halves with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Roast in oven at 375 ° until tender with a fork (usually around 30 minutes). After squash cools for a few minutes, take a fork and shred the meat of the squash. It should easily come off in strands (see photo). Once both halves are shredded, toss with vegetables.

This is where you can get really creative. You can add a red sauce, a white sauce, olive oil and garlic, chicken, vegetables, etc. The possibilities are endless! I wanted to keep things vegetarian so I added sautéed zucchini (fresh picked from my garden), mushrooms, green beans, onions, red pepper flakes, and crumbles of feta cheese. Yum :)

It’s filling, good for you and tasty. I think this one’s a keeper for sure.

Leave a Reply

