Phone Food

This morning I was looking at photos on my phone, and I noticed a lot of random food pictures. I decided to combine some of them and write this entry, a hodgepodge of foods and recipes.

1. Margherita Pizza

This was so easy to make! I purchased a bag of dough from the store. It’s a little more homemade than pre-made shells but not as daunting as making dough from scratch. I did a simple olive oil and garlic sauce because sometimes I’m just not in the mood for red sauce pizza.

Roll out the dough (hence the odd shape) and brush it with olive oil. Sprinkle on a combination of garlic, salt and red pepper flakes. Place it in the oven to set a bit (400°). When the dough is lightly browned, take it out and add mozzarella, tomatoes and basil. Place pizza back into the oven, and bake until you see bubbly, cheesy goodness.

This took less than 3o minutes, the topping possibilities are endless, and who doesn’t love pizza? It’s a win-win in my book.

2. Fajitas

I love Mexican inspired food. I’m always mixing up vegetables and tossing them in corn tortillas; you really can’t go wrong. I made these fajitas one Friday night.

For the fajitas- Sauté onions, garlic, yellow squash and bell peppers in olive oil. Sprinkle vegetable mixture with some salt, chipotle powder and a little cumin, to taste. Warm corn tortillas in oven. When the vegetables are done place in warm tortillas. Sprinkle with fresh cilantro and your favorite cheese.

For the salad on the side- Cut tomatoes and avocado into cubes and combine with lime juice and a crank of salt. Eat on the side, use as a chunky salsa on the fajitas, and/or scoop up this salad with some tortilla chips!

That’s it! Super easy and filling.

3. Peanut Noodles-

I am in love with these noodles. The flavors in this peanut sauce are magical. I used a Martha Stewart recipe, making a few adjustments.

The Peanut Sauce-

2 large cloves garlic, minced

1 tablespoon of minced ginger *

2 tablespoons dark sesame oil **

1/4 cup soy sauce (low sodium would be best)

1/4 cup rice-wine vinegar

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 tablespoon chili paste

2 scallions, thinly sliced, plus more for garnish

2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh cilantro

1 teaspoon coarse salt

* I added ginger to this sauce. The original recipe does not call for it, but I thought it was a great addition.

** I used tahini because I was out of sesame oil. Tahini is a sesame seed paste. It worked really well!

Cook noodles (12 oz) and toss with the peanut sauce. I added sautéed mushrooms, sprouts and greens to my noodles. You could easily add chicken, peppers, broccoli, etc.

I had an epiphany while making this sauce. It would be an amazing wing sauce, and I’m definitely taking peanut wings to the Steelers home opener! HERE WE GO!

One thought on “Phone Food

  1. Pingback: Football Tailgate Food « What's for Dinner

Leave a Reply

