Friday Pizza

It’s Friday night, and I just finished the first week of a new semester! Back in OH, Friday nights are known for my dad’s homemade pizza. I loved coming home to the smell of red sauce and bubbling cheese in the oven, the perfect end to a long week. To bring the spirit of back home into my kitchen here in PA, I decided to make a “pizza” tonight.

I bought one of those Pillsbury pastry doughs, I know I’m a cheater. I wanted a flaky crust for this pizza (it’s really more like a tart). I popped open the container, pressed the dough onto some parchment paper and brushed it with olive oil and freshly minced garlic. I put the dough in the oven (temp on container) for a few minutes to brown a bit. Once set, I took it out and added some toppings!  I used left over roasted beets and sautéed beet greens from the salad I made two nights ago, and I added roasted broccoli and feta cheese. YUMMY! I threw it back in the oven and cooked it until the crust was fully done. It came out even better than I had planned. I love that I got to use up and create a different meal from Wednesday’s leftovers. Do you ever remix your leftovers into new dinners?

One thought on “Friday Pizza

Leave a Reply

