“Sandy, why-yi-yi-yi-yi”

Hurricane Sandy is heading for the east coast! I’m not sure how bad it’s going to get here in State College, but the University is sending out flood/high wind warnings. I’m still holding out for the no class alert, ha.

I have the essentials ready: water, red wine, a headlamp, a good book and a stocked pantry. I’m not talking about your average bread and peanut butter pantry. What kind of food blogger would I be? I’ve compiled my own foodies guide to hurricane eating!

1. Breakfast-

  • Quick bread (See Pumpkin Bread post!)
  • Fruit of choice (pear, apple, banana etc.)
  • Starbucks iced VIA instant coffee! I’m not letting a hurricane get between me and my morning coffee fix, lol.

2. Lunch-

  • Can of tuna, mayo pack (I always grab an extra from Subway), chopped apple, chopped walnuts, salt and pepper. A quick tuna salad, no fridge required!
  • Fruit
  • Chips, pretzels, goldfish, etc.

3. Dinner-

  • Gazpacho anyone?! Whip up a batch before the storm comes, and store it in an airtight container on your porch if the power goes out. It is definitely cold enough outside to keep this soup cold, and you are supposed to eat it either chilled or at room temp.
  • Bean salad- 1 can of beans, white wine vinegar, olive oil, diced onion, minced garlic, diced carrots, parsley (fresh from that plant you keep on the deck or dried), cherry tomatoes, salt and pepper.
  • Pasta-I precooked some pasta and put it in the fridge. If the power goes out, tomorrow’s dinner will be pasta with tomatoes, olive oil, garlic, artichokes (canned), parsley and grated Parmesan cheese.

4. Snacks-

  • Pretzels and Nutella- top priority ;)
  • Dark chocolate

This obviously won’t get you through a week, but it will get you through 1-3 days of no power. I’m ready for Sandy, are you?

One thought on ““Sandy, why-yi-yi-yi-yi”

Leave a Reply

