Cilantro Hummus

Sorry for my long hiatus from blogging. I realized I should probably be spending more time publishing my thesis findings than blogging. Darn school, lol.

Since I had some down time today, I decided to test out my new FOOD PROCESSOR. Thanks to my mom, I am now part of the Cuisinart cult! These food processors are a dream. How did I survive this long without one?! My first recipe using my new kitchen toy:

Cilantro Hummus

  • 2 cans of chickpeas drained
  • 1 1/2 lemons juiced
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons of tahini (optional)
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, don’t be shy
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Put all of the ingredients, excluding the oil, in the processor. Pulse away until it looks mixed! Slowly pour the oil into the bean  mixture while the processor is on. Once the bean mixture starts to stick together and looks smooth, stop. That’s it!

**If you want to cut back on oil, you could use a water and oil mix in the last step. You just need some kind of liquid to bind the beans together.

I ate a small bowl with vegetables while watching  football, and I have enough extra to snack on all week. It’s delicious, healthy, easy and affordable. I’m not sure I’ll ever buy hummus at the store again!

Hummus

Leave a Reply

