Pulled Pork

Two posts in two days! Crazy, right?! So, I’m still excited about the Steelers beating Baltimore yesterday, and I’m even more excited about the dinner I had during the game. I made some finger lickin’ good BBQ pulled pork and cole slaw.

If you have a slow cooker or a big soup pot and a stove, you need to make this ASAP! I guarantee it’s a crowd-pleaser.

I used this recipe- BBQ Pulled Pork

Of course I made a few changes:

(1) I did mine on the stove top because my crock pot was too small for the pork shoulder. If you do yours this way, keep an eye on it. I had to add a lot of extra liquid to keep the onions from burning to the bottom of the pot. I honestly think I added an additional 4 cups of broth/water. Not all at once though. When the liquid got low, I added more 1/2 cup at a time. My shoulder only took 5 hours to cook on the stove top over medium-high heat.

(2) I added a few sprinkles of liquid smoke to the pot. Who doesn’t love a little smoke flavor?!

(3) I added a 1/2 cinnamon stick in with the onions and left this in the pot during the first hour of cooking. I love cinnamon, and since it’s part of the rub I figured a little extra kick wouldn’t hurt. It was great!

(4) I didn’t add the full 2 cups of BBQ sauce (1/2 cup only) to the finished pork because the pork was amazing plain (more of a smoky pork flavor). I put some extra sauce on my sandwich instead.

Cole Slaw

  • 1 bag of slaw mix
  • 1 cup of white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp. celery seed
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cracked black pepper
  • Sugar**

Mix all of this together in a big bowl, and let it sit. I made mine earlier in the day, and I stirred it every hour or so to redistribute the dressing.

** Many recipes call for 1 cup of sugar. This was not happening in my world. I think I used one tablespoon of sugar. I also LOVE vinegar, so a more tangy slaw didn’t bother me. I would play around with the sugar and tailor the recipe to your taste.

This was one of  the best dinners I’ve made in a long time, especially because it reminded me of Sunday dinners at home!

photo(141)

Leave a Reply

