Brussels Sprouts

I’ve had a Brussels sprouts obsession lately. For those of you that watch Big Bang Theory, I’m turning into Sheldon when he went on his cruciferous vegetable diet, lol.  I think this vegetable gets a bad rap, drumming up memories of bland little green blobs that have no flavor. When actually, Brussels sprouts can be really delicious, and these green guys are loaded with antioxidants, fiber and Vitamin C. I drew a little sketch illustrating the different ways they can be eaten:

BS3

“The Good”- Roasted Brussels Sprouts- This is a great Barefoot Contessa recipe that illustrates how easy preparing Brussels sprouts can be. You literally just toss the sprouts with EVOO, salt and pepper and roast until finished! This is my go to technique when I’m craving them. I love how crispy the outer shell gets.

BS2

“The Bad”- Steamed Brussels Sprouts- This is the way we usually picture them, i.e. super bland. I love vegetables, so  I think if I steamed these and added a little butter and salt, I’d still really enjoy them. They aren’t that bad, but this is not my preferred method.

“The Amazing”- Sautéed Brussels Sprouts with BACON– It’s clear why this is the best recipe; they are made with bacon! I can almost guarantee if you didn’t like this vegetable before, you will now. This Food Network recipe is similar to the one my mom makes, and I could eat a whole pan of these by myself!

If none of these dishes look appetizing, Martha Stewart has some other great ideas. I hope this post motivates you to try something new!

2 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts

  1. 1) that drawing made me say “aww” in a really shrill voice out loud. So cute.
    2) you managed to incorporate Ina and Martha, my two idols into one post about one of my favorite veggies? Emily it’s not even my birthday.

Leave a Reply

