April showers bring May flowers and juicers!

I got a juicer last week, and I couldn’t be more excited about it. My friends here at school can attest; I’m obsessed. I went with the Breville JE98XL Fountain Plus, and so far I’ve been thrilled with this product. It’s easy to put together and easy to clean. It gets most of the liquid out of  fruits and vegetables (pulp is relatively dry), and it has a large chute (less prep).

I’ve been using juice as a meal replacement 3-4 times a week. Surprisingly, even a juice meal leaves me feeling satiated. I’m hoping this will be a positive lifestyle change I can adapt to get even more strong and fit :) Enough chitchat, let’s get to the juice…


“Orange Juice”
(makes ~4 cups)

  • 4 carrots
  • 4 apples
  • 3 celery stalks
  • thumb size hunk of ginger

CarrotJuice_1

Green Juice (makes ~ 3cups)

  • 2 granny smith apples
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 kiwis
  • huge handful or two of kale

GreenJuice_1

I love both of these recipes. Don’t be afraid of mixing in vegetables. The combos work and vegetables like celery and kale really don’t over power the other flavors if you use the right proportions. There are so many more recipes online I want to try. In a month or so I’ll have to do another post.

Note- don’t throw away the juice pulp. You can use it to bake, thicken soups andddd for you gardeners out there, throw it in your compost!

I’m going to change directions to wrap this up. Winter is finally over, and even though I love snow, I couldn’t be more happy about all the trees and flowers that are blooming. My favorite flower in the whole world is in its prime right now… the TULIP! Below are some photos from the PSU campus (it’s so gorgeous here), and a beautiful yellow tulip pic my mom sent me. The yellow ones are my favorite! She knows me so well :)

Look at the little solo yellow tulip under the tree :)

I love the little solo yellow tulip under the tree :)

Tree_1

Outside ASI Building.

CampusTulips

Tulip heaven by the library.

Tuliphome

Home sweet home.

7 thoughts on “April showers bring May flowers and juicers!

    • I am obsessed with it. I used a coupon at Bed Bath and Beyond so it was around $127! Best investment ever. I have been experimenting lately with so many other combos. You would be in love.

  1. I thought my juicer was broken the other day and almost went into full panic mode. Are you still loving the Breville?

Leave a Reply

